Individual Awards of the 2017 University Football League

The 2017 University Football League campaign came to an end Today Saturday, 25th November 2017 at Mandela National Stadium with Uganda Martyrs University, Nkozi (UMU) emerging as the champions.

UMU Beat the top contenders, Makerere University Bussiness School (MUBS) 2 – 0 in the finals to confirm their first trophy in the tourney history.

Nkumba University clinched the third place of the now 6 years Old Nile Specila sponsored tourney after beating Gulu University in the kick-off match. Ugandan Buzz presents to you the Individual awards of the tournament.

Individual Accolades of the 2017 University Football League

Top Scorer: Fredson Gwoto of Nkumba University with 8 goals.
Best Coach: Charles Ayiekho Lukula of MUBS
Best Goal Keeper: Julius Sekyewa
Most Valuable of Player (MVP): Moses Kifumba (MUBS)

Meanwhile, no Big league nor Uganda Premier league player is allowed by law to take part in the tournament that targets fresh talents on board.

The tourney has produced players like Yassar Mugerwa, Yunus Kaddu, Musa Esenu, Siraji Musindo, goalkeeper Hannington Ssebwalunyo, Abel Eturude among others.

What do you think?

Written by Kalema Lawrence

No one tells me what to write, so I will never tell you what to think.

Full-time entertainment blogger and seasoned Travel article writer. Reach me at +256 703 245760 and

Tarrus Riley Show To Be Postponed

Senkumba wins 2017 2WD title