NRC Round 1: Jas Mangat Wins 2018 Season Opener, Mbarara Rally

Jas Mangat under his Pilipili Rally Crew won the 2018 Rally Season Opener, the Mbarara Rally in western Uganda after several attempts.

Together with his notes reader Joseph Kamya, they took the rally lead from the start on Saturday to the end of the event.

In the covered total distance of about 194.10 kilometers rally, the two posted the quickest time of 1hr 47mins and 42seconds (01:47:42:00). According to Jas Mangat, the crew came to the Rally with a different approach and a very conscious mind set.

We came into the rally with different approach. We had a more settled mind and very conscious. We had to go back to the basics. We enjoyed day one more because we started car number six. By the time it was our time to go the roads were cleared.

But day two had so many problems. Being first on the road we found ourselves being blocked in the stage. But we are glad we won” He said.

Jas Mangat and Kamya now go top on the 2018 NRC leaderboard with 100 points.

Other Winners

The reigning NRC champion, oldman Christakis Fitidis finished second with 6 minutes and 37seconds behind the winners.

Susan Muwonge made her return eventful with a podium finish, sealing third place overall, Unissan Bakunda settling for the forth and Ashraf Ahmed taking the fifth position.

Rally Causalities

Only nineteen crews finished the rally of the thirty-one that started, with notable casualties including Ponsiano Lwakataka, Omar Mayanja and Ronald Sebuguzi who all suffered mechanical problems. Hassan Alwi had also rolled out of the event in the first stage.

Meanwhile, Adam Rauf Essa despite pulling off a sublime performance from the start had his hopes dashed when he hit a stump in the final stage. The next round of the National Rally Championship is scheduled for 2nd to 4th March in Jinja.

Summary of the top ten finishers

(Position. Driver/ Navigator – Time Posted)

1. Jas Mangat/Joseph Kamya – 1:47:42

2. Christakis Fitidis/Eric Nzamwita – 1:54:19

3. Susan Muwonge/Edmon Kyeyune – 1:54:19

4. Unnisan Bakunda/ Umar Kakande – 2:01:56

5. Dr Ashraf/Edward Kiyingi – 2:03:27

6. Umar Dauda/ Muhammad Sebbina – 2:03:31

7. Kepher Walubi/Anthony Mugambwa – 2:03:39

8. Aine Soedo/Derrick Lubambula – 2:08:37

9. Samuel Bwete/Urban Mulindwa – 2:10:43

10. Peter Kalule/Mariam Nambasa – 2:17:13

What do you think?

Written by Kalema Lawrence

No one tells me what to write, so I will never tell you what to think.

Full-time entertainment blogger and seasoned Travel article writer. Reach me at +256 703 245760 and

Breaking News: Singer Mowzey Radio Passes on

Fifi Da Queen Hits Back at Suudiman, He bogus & a corpse