Kalya Courts Rally: NRC 4th Round is on at Fort Portal

All roads lead to the Omukama land in Fort portal today, 2nd June 2018 for the fourth round of the National Rally Championship dubbed Kalya Rally courts.

Fans who know well the attributes of the Toro region ‘of-course beautiful women’ have already flocked the region to indulge with sources saying that all hotels and lodges are full despite prices being doubled or tripled.

Back to the rally itself, it is going to be a do-or-die affair since a shift in the championship lead are expected having calendar leaders Jas Mangat with his co-driver Joseph Kamya made a late withdrawal from the battle. Mangat is in a comfortable 39-point and 60-point lead ahead of Unisan Bakunda (161 points) and defending champion Christakis Fitdis (140 points) respectively but any podium finish them will make the Pilipili Rally Team sink to the third or beyond.

Hassan Alwi who won last year’s same event has started car number one on the road followed by Unisan Bakunda before Christakis Fitidis in third.

Two Wheel Drive (2WD) Battle

A stiff competition is also expected in the 2WD with own fight mainly between current leader Edwin Kalule and Timothy Gawaya. With only 15 points putting Kalule ahead, a mouth watering fight is expected.

Gawaya, who started driving a Volkswagen Golf in 2016 has had several roles, including one with female navigator Agatha Namatovu who vowed not to step in his car again. Now driving a Toyota Starlet, Gawaya beleives he will reduce the margin in the Kalya Courts Rally.

I am targeting the 2018 championship title in the 2WD category and I will do so by winning the Fort Portal rally” Timothy Gawaya who is presently with Francis Wamala and his navigator vowed before stepping into today’s rally.

However, they must put out an outstanding performance to beat 2WD table leader Edwin Kalule who drives a stronger Toyota Celica.

Current NRC Table (Top 10) ahead of Fort Portal rally

1. Jas Mangat/Joseph Kamya 200 points

2. Unisan Bakunda/Umar Kakande 161 points

3. Christakis Fitidis/Eric Nzamwita 140 points

4. Susan Muwonge/Edmond Kyeyune 110 points

5. Kepher Walubi/Anthony Mugambwa 105 points

6. Ponsiano Lwakataka/Sam Mugisha 95 points

7. Ashiraf Ahmed/Edward Kiyingi 90 points

8.Duncan Mubiru/Musa Nsubuga 75 points

9.Fred Wampamba/Paul Musaazi 65 points

10.Hassan Alwi/Enoch Olinga 50 points

What do you think?

Written by Kalema Lawrence

No one tells me what to write, so I will never tell you what to think.

Full-time entertainment blogger and seasoned Travel article writer. Reach me at +256 703 245760 and

KCCA FC Thrashes Synergy FC 10 – 0 to Progress to Uganda Cup Finals

How Singer Fille Wished MC Kats his 36th Birthday