Formula 1: Lewis Hamilton Claims 1st Season Victory in Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Mercedes Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton claimed his first victory in the 2018 season after winning the Azerbaijan Grand Prix with the best time of 1:43:44.291 to earn the 25 points.

Accroding to Lewis himself, he admits he was lucky to claim one of the most fortunate victories of his Formula One career after ending his six-race winning drought since October’s United States Grand Prix.

Hamilton now tops the season’s championship for the first time after taking advantage of Valtteri Bottas’s dramatic 220mph tyre blow-out, a stunning crash involving Red Bull team-mates Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo, and Sebastian Vettel’s overtaking gamble that backfired.

Other Podium Winners

Ferrari’s Kim Raikkonen took the second position in the Azerbaijan Grand Prix with +2.460s to Hamilton’s time to claim 18 points, Force India Mercedes’ Sergio Perez finished third with +4.024s to claim the 15 points and Ferrari’s Vettel bagged the 12 points after finishing forth with +5.239s to seal the four positions.

How Each Driver Finished

Vettel’s Gamble

Vettel had appeared on course to secure a commanding, and well-deserved victory which would have marked his third from the opening four rounds, only for the race to turn on its head when Ricciardo ran into the back of Verstappen with 11 laps to go.

Current Driver Standings (Top 5)

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) is leading with 70 points just only 4 points away from the second positioned Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari. Kim Raikkonen still from Ferrari is in the third position with 48 followed by Mercedes’ Valterri Bottas with 40 points before Red Bull’s Ricciardo sealing up the five positions with 37 points sofar.

What do you think?

Written by Kalema Lawrence

No one tells me what to write, so I will never tell you what to think.

Full-time entertainment blogger and seasoned Travel article writer. Reach me at +256 703 245760 and

About Nonkanyiso Conco, Former SA President’s to be Seventh wife

Ponsiano Lwakataka Triumphs in Masaka Rally