in , ,


Uganda-Kenya & Tanzania Given Chance To Host The 2027 African Cup Of Nations.


The 2027 African Cup of Nations will be jointly hosted by the three East African states; Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania after their joint biding to host the 2025. However, CAF resolution ally granted permission to Morocco to host the 2025 edition.

However, by the conclusion of the session, CAF decided to revoke Algeria’s initial hosting rights for the 2027 African Cup of Nations. The mutual contract with Algeria was disregarded in favor of the joint PAMOJA BID taking on the role of hosts for the 2027 edition.

Kenya-Uganda-Tanzania will host the African Cup of Nations, welcoming it back for the second time in Eastern Africa ever since Ethiopia staged the finals in 1976 which was won by Morocco.

Algeria, Zambia, Nigeria-Benin were the close rivals for Morocco over the 2025 edition. However after the final decision of CAF, the above nation’s delibaletly withdrew from the favor.

Kenya & Tanzania with no reasonable doubt, have obvious international stadiums fruitfully to host such competitions. However Uganda is yet to have such capacity stadiums.

Moses Magogo FUFA President in Uganda clarified that Uganda has been rehabilitating the Namboole National Stadium in Kampala Capital.

FUFA went on and listed the Denver Godwin Stadium in (Garuga-Entebbe), Nakivubo and St. Mary’s Stadium Kitende.

Morocco is widely acknowledged as a prominent nation in Africa, boasting top-tier stadiums that have hosted numerous tournaments. Furthermore, Morocco has generously provided approval to other African nations that may lack stadiums meeting the required CAF Standards.

Fortunate nations chosen to host the event will experience a significant boost in infrastructure upgrades and a notable economic upturn, particularly in foreign exchange rates. They will embark on ambitious projects, including the construction of state-of-the-art stadiums, extensive roadworks, and enhancements in various social service provisions. President Motsepe has affirmed these transformations.

Due to natural hindrances, the 2023, AFCON edition was shifted to 2024 mostly due to heavy down powers. Ivory Coast will host the tournament in 2024.

Egypt is the most successful nation with more tittles having managed to win seven times including three times in row, ( 2006, 2008 and 2010), Cameroon ranked second with five major titles ( 1984, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2017 )and Ghana comes with four trophies ( 1963,1965, 1978 and 1982 respectively.

Senegal are the reigning champions of AFCON having triumphed as champions in 2022 ( 6-Feb-2022) aggregate ( 4-2) in penalty shootout defeating Egypt with Sadio Mane’s last gasp which granted the Senegalese champions in 2022.

What do you think?

Written by Kusaasira Noah

Masaza Cup enters Semi-Finals play off.

The Masaza ‘Bloody Semi-Final First Leg.