UMU Defy Odds to Clinch 2017 University Football League Title

University Football League 2017:
Final: Uganda Martyrs University 2-0 MUBS
2nd Runners Up: Nkumba University 2-1 Gulu University

It was a fun filled moment to Uganda Martyrs University Nkozi (UMU) students as being crowned the lifted the 2017 University Football League champions following a comfortable 2 – 0 win over Makerere University Bussiness School (MUBS).

The finals of the Nile Special sponsored championship were played on Saturday, 25th November 2017 at Mandela National Stadium.

UMU’s goals were scored by Douglas Owori and Lauben Lubega, both in the first half, to Coach Shafiq Bisaso another line to add in his book of History.

“We prepared well throughout the tournament…. We were mentally and physically ready for the final. I salute the players, coaching staff and university administration that has supported the team throughout” Bisaso Said.

However, there were ugly scenes towards the end of the match as MUBS fans nearly turned violent, out of frustration on the tiding of the game.

Meanwhile, In the second runnersup battle that was also the play off match of the day, Nkumba University beat Gulu University by 2 – 1 to be consoled with a bronze.

Previous Winners of University Football League:

2017 – Uganda Martyrs University, Nkozi (UMU)
2016 – Kampala University (KU)
2015 – Makerere University Bussiness School (MUBS)
2014 – Makerere University Bussiness School (MUBS)
2013 – Kampala University (KU)
2012 – Makerere University Kampala (MUK)

What do you think?

Written by Kalema Lawrence

No one tells me what to write, so I will never tell you what to think.

Full-time entertainment blogger and seasoned Travel article writer. Reach me at +256 703 245760 and

Kream Productions Singer Donah Arrested Over Cacaine Trafficking

Tarrus Riley Show To Be Postponed